ODE TO ANARKALI SUITS

I’m sure most people know the Salim and Anarkali story thanks to Mughal-e-Azam or general chit chat. Salim was Akbar’s son (later known as Jehangir) who fell in love with a courtesan called Anarkali. Daddy Akbar was not very happy about this and ordered to have a wall built around Anarkali as her tomb where she’s be left to die. No one really knows what happened to Anarkali. Some wish to believe that she did die after suffocating in the death tomb custom made for her. Others like to believe that she was able to escape somehow. Regardless of the story (and the epic Pyar Kiya to Darna Kya song that this story inevitably reminds me of, the greatest remnant of Anarkali in the modern world are Indian suits worn these days conveniently called Anarkali Suits.

Historically, such suits were worn by Islamic courtesans during Mughal reign in India. They have made a huge comeback in the last five or so years and unlike many other fashions, have not faded so soon. The garment’s appeal lies in the very feminine silhouette provided by the massive flare that these suits have- a lot of ghera because of a number of kalis that are attached together. Anarkali suits use up a lot of fabric but they do have a regal princess charm to them that girls these days are finding hard to resist.

Here is a collection of some beautiful Anarkali suits I found off the web. I recently bought my first Anarkali Suit (super late I know :S). It’s a light soft green with white lace on the bottom and at the back with a beautiful net dupatta also with lace borders and some lace design. I LOVE it. When I went shopping for one, most shops had a similar style- a net suit with lots of silver and gold bling on it. Granted I wanted a flashy one to wear for weddings and other celebrations but the ones I saw just weren’t cutting it. I looked for some on the internet but they proved to be quite pricey. Eventually I found one I fell in love with the moment I set my eyes on it and that’s how the green anarkali suit came home with me (For Rs. 2100 only!!!!!!). I shall post pictures when I finally get a chance to wear it. For now, here are internet’s best-

Which one is your favourite?

DISCLAIMER: I do not own any of these images.

I love the colours and the mish mash of patterns. This one has such an exotic/different look.

I love the colours and the mish mash of patterns. This one has such an exotic/different look.

Madhuri looks gorgeous in anarkali suits!

Madhuri looks gorgeous in anarkali suits!

Another gorgeous one!

Another gorgeous one!

LOVE LOVE LOEVE everything about this one!

LOVE LOVE LOEVE everything about this one!

I love the peacock thing!

I love the peacock thing!

I think this is too short to be a proper anarkali but I love the design on the neckline

I think this is too short to be a proper anarkali but I love the design on the neckline

I know where this photo was taken. It's the Viceroy's Lodge in Shimla in the background! Te suit is fantastic too! A bit too bing bling but perhaps best for a reception ceremoney dress.

I know where this photo was taken. It’s the Viceroy’s Lodge in Shimla in the background! Te suit is fantastic too! A bit too bing bling but perhaps best for a reception ceremoney dress.

3 responses to “ODE TO ANARKALI SUITS

  1. I can’t even remember what I wore before anarkalis… They’re so feminine and gorgeous!

    Just stumbled across your blog and I’m loving it 🙂

  2. Pingback: Ode to Anarkali Suits Part 2 | Desi Noor·

Leave a Reply

