THE ART OF CONTOURING & HIGHLIGHTING

If you are like me (read BROWN), then I can bet you a $100 (because that is all I can afford right now) that you have trouble finding the right shade of foundation to match your skin. 9 times out of 10 I come home with a foundation that either makes my face look like it’s from ghostville or gives me a summer tan in December. After years of struggling with the wrong shades and a growing pile of unused foundations I discovered contouring!!! Not only was I able to use the lighter as well as the darker shades of the foundations I had, I also made my makeup look a lot more natural!!! I was able to highlight the right features and achieve the perfect results!!

CONTOURING

It basically means ensuring that the right parts of your face get contoured and highlighted. Ideally, you want to brighten up features where light would fall and reflect. The depressed parts of your face should be covered in a darker shade.

Here’s how it works:

I use Kim’s photo here because I really think she does it best. When I’m read to put foundation on (after washing and moisturizing my face), I apply three different shades of foundation. I cover my under eye area with a warm base concealer and then add the lightest shade of my foundation on the area under my eye, middle of my forehead and nose, chin and the area in between my cheekbone and jaw. I then take a darker shade and apply that foundation along the temples and under my cheekbones making a large ‘C’ on my face. I also apply this shade along my jawbone and the side of my nose. Finally, I pick a foundation that is almost similar or a shade darker than my actual skin tone to fill in the remaining areas and blend everything with a sponge. Viola!! Perfect face that makes me so happy!!!

If you learn better with a video then here’s one of the better ones I’ve seen:

Leave a Reply

