DIY HALDI (TURMERIC) FACE MASK

Image

Lately my skin has not been in good shape. It’s breaking out, i have tonnes of white heads and it has generally lost its lustre. Being the smart ass I am, I thought I can just cover this up with a smooth layer of foundation and my problem will be solved. I’ve come to realize that foundation, in fact, may be the problem. About 2-3 weeks ago, I started using the Extra Virgin liquid foundation from the Body Shop. I had heard good things about this foundation and Body Shop stuff is usually quite good. This particular foundation has thick coverage which hasn’t been good for my skin. I believe it started clogging my pores which has resulted in my facial skin breaking out the way it is. So about 3 days ago I stopped using this one and went back to my light coverage Covergirl Clean Foundation. This one looks like it’s barely there but it does what’s needed and is probably better for my skin.

Today I looked at my face in natural light and I was just shocked. This is not looking good. So i decided to do something about it. I’m sick of using acne gels and scrubs and cleansers and all these chemical products that offer great results but in reality do very little. So I looked up natural face masks and came the haldi one. Here’s how to make it:

1. Take a small bowl/tupperware container and add 1/2 a teaspoon of haldi

2. Add 1/2 teaspoon of besan (gram/chickpeas powder)

3. Add a few drops of melted raw honey

4. Finally add a little milk to obtain the desired consistency

You can add these ingredients until you get the right texture that isn’t too runny or too thick. Apply this paste on your face and leave for 20-30 minutes. Keep in mind that haldi stains like crazy so wear an old t-shirt and be generally careful about staining anywhere. Wash it off with just water first and if it has stained your face, use soap. I find that if I shower right after then my face doesn’t stain too much. Your face might look a little yellow but it’s nothing to be worried about. Despite a slight stain, I noticed a healthy looking glow that made me HAPPY 😀

I’m going to apply this mask every day for about 3 weeks and see if there is a difference. I’ll keep you posted 🙂

Leave a Reply

