PRE-WEDDING HAIR CARE

Healthy hair is important. You want a head full of big voluminous long and shiny hair for your wedding. That is what is going to make you look good in photographs and that is what you will need for the bajillion styling options. I mean you could always wear hair extensions- the ones you clip on but be prepared for headaches on top of the regular I’m getting married headache.

This post is all about hair makeover. I am a not so proud bearer of fine, thin, lifeless, split ends saturated medium-long-ish length hair. So I need this makeover more than anyone else.

My hair has gone through tremendous harsh torture. It used to be thick and amazing until I was about 16 and then it started to vanish. I developed bald spots with very very fine hair on the crown of my head and had a lot of hair fall. Over the years, straightening, curling, coloring and perming have not helped.  In fact my hair is still recovering from a perm I got 2 years ago (worst idea ever). It is half straight half curly frizzy not-so-hot mess.

Now that I have a big opportunity to look good, I’m going to try and improve the quality of my hair. These are the steps I will be taking in the next few months (I’ve actually already started):

1. Trimming– I usually trim my own hair. I’ve been trimming it every three months since February this year. My hair is growing very slowly but it has really really helped with my split ends! Just trim 1/4th of an inch every three months if you’re trying to grow your hair- just a tiny bit. A very IMPORTANT thing to remember is to ALWAYS ALWAYS cut hair with sharp hair cutting shears. Do not use stationary scissors or any other scissors but hair cutting sharp shears. This one time I cut my hair with normal scissors and every single hair grew split ends. Every single one! If you go to a salon to get your hair cut then that is not a problem of course.

2. Heat Treatments– You need to stop this. Right now. I’m being serious. All that heat styling stuff is SO bad for you. You really need to keep away from that and I’m talking from experience. I’ve been straightening/curling my hair for the last 8 years and I have never been without split ends except for the last few months when I stopped styling my hair with heat equipment and started taking better care of it. There are plenty of alternatives. If you have curly hair, just put some mild-chemical free product in it (try beautifying Olive Oil from the Body Shop- light weight- non-oily) and walk out the door. If you have straight hair and want curls, give that curling iron a rest and just pull your hair in a sock bun overnight to wake up with gorgeous bouncing curls in the morning. Check out this how to-

There are plenty of heat-less things you can do to your hair to make it look good. Just try one of the braids/buns options available from about 100 here-

3. Shampoo– How often you wash your hair depends on your hair. If it’s oily, wash more often and skip the conditioner. If it’s dry, wash less often, condition and use oils afterwards. The one common thing to keep in mind, however, is to use herbal, mild or natural shampoo! You have no idea how many chemicals regular brand shampoos have. All of them basically coat your hair with a layer of silica to induce shine but that stuff is killing your hair! Use herbal shampoos (you can find them in most shampoo sections at almost any store…just gotta look for them as they don’t pop out like advertised brands). I’ve been using the ginger shampoo from the Body Shop and it’s been working great for my hair.

4. Oiling– Hands down the best stuff for your hair. Find 100% organic oil (coconut, olive, gooseberries or amla, almond) from amazon or e-bay and pamper yourself to a head massage at least 2-3 times a week (or depending on how often you wash your hair). If you have oily scalp, just use a little bit of a light oil and if your scalp is dry, go wild. Massage for 15-20 minutes while watching TV, tie it up in a poly tail or braid and go to bed (with a towel on your pillow). Wash it in the morning. The massage part is great for blood circulation and stimulating hair growth and the oil gives your hair proteins and nutrients it needs to grow.

5. Lifestyle– Yes, I mean eating right, exercising regularly and get plenty of sleep. I know this is easier said than done but what you put inside your body and how you treat it shows on your skin and hair. Treat your body like a temple. Eat healthy nutritious food every 2-3 hours in small portions, drink at least 2 liters of water every day (set an hourly alarm and use a bottle with a measurement drawn on the outside). Prioritize exercising. Not only does it help you look fit and sexy and all that but it can improve your quality of living a great deal and help you live a long and healthy life. It increases your metabolism, elevates your mood, helps you sleep better and makes you a happier and stronger person in general. Last but not the least, please get more sleep. Get into a habit of ‘switching off’ a few hours before your bed time to de-stress.

I’ve been trying to follow these for the last 3-4 months now and it’s already making a difference to my hair. If I push it a bit more my hair might actually look good until the wedding. You basically have to treat your hair like it’s the most expensive piece of silk top you have in your closet. You’re going to wash it according to instructions, iron it on low heat and hang it nicely in your closer aren’t you. Treat your hair with the same kind of love. Be gentle and show it some LOWE!

Leave a Reply

